User and Group Management
FractalScan Surface provides two levels of user management, Organisation Roles and Group Roles:
- Organisation Roles: what a user can do within your organisation
- Group Roles: what a user can do within a specific group
See Organisation and Group Roles for more information on the roles available.
When new users join your organisation, you or someone else with the correct permissions (admin or owner) will need to set the new user's roles for the organisation including any group you would like them to access.
If you have invited a new user, they will need to accept this invitation before you can update their roles. When they first join your organisation they will not be able to see any groups until they permissions have been updated.
It is recommended that the new user is guided to use multi-factor authentication (MFA) once their account has been set up, guidance is available for MFA and session expiry.
If you would like to manage all organisation and group roles for all users, this can be done from the users page for an organisation. The users page can be accessed from the scan browser, via the three dots '...' icon.
On the users page you can search for users and manage the organisation role (the cog icon), or the groups they can access (the people icon).
When managing a user's groups, you will be presented with a new window where groups can be added and removed.
To change a users role within a group, simply remove the user from that group, then re-add them under the new role.
Groups roles can be managed from the settings (the cog icon) for a specific group.
This will take you to the Users page described in the section above, where you can manage the groups roles for each user.
When creating a new group within FractalScan Surface, you will need to use the Users management page to add users to that group before they can see it. You will be automatically added as an administrator.
If you want to manage the groups for multiple users, this can also be done from an Organisation's users page. Use the checkboxes to select all the users you would like to add or remove from a group. At the top of the page you will then be able to select to edit these users to 'Manage Groups'.
To be able to add or remove multiple users from groups, they must either, all not be in the group (for adding), or all be in the group (for removing)
If you need to give some users separate permissions, such as one person being an admin for the group, then they will need to be added to that group individually.